Home > Chromium, Ubuntu > Chromium 11 in Ubuntu

Chromium 11 in Ubuntu

Chromium 11 has been released earlier today. It’s full of good stuff for your own pleasure. It also contains a list of security fixes longer than my arm, for your own protection.

I’ve prepared the Ubuntu packages for Lucid, Maverick and Natty and handed them over to my security sponsor more than an hour ago, so they will reach the official repositories hopefully in a day or two. I’m now waiting for Oneiric to open in order to re-gain upload access. I have to admit I’m more and more displeased by that whole SRU process, the SRU exception I’ve been granted for Chromium last year didn’t change anything. It’s still as painful and slow to get the updates in.

If you want to have it sooner, the exact same packages are already available in the Stable Channel PPA as usual, for Hardy, Karmic, Lucid, Maverick and Natty. You can safely subscribe to this PPA and later receive the official builds with your regular system upgrades.

As Hardy (Desktop) and Karmic will very soon reach end of life (as announced by the Ubuntu Release Manager), I will stop producing Chromium builds for those distributions in the 4 PPAs. That will allow me to remove some old cruft from the packaging (which are really too complex), and as Oneiric will also open very soon, I wish to spare some build resources.

  1. April 28, 2011 at 01:48

    So 2 days before Natty release you can add chromium package?

    • fta
      April 28, 2011 at 07:37

      no, I can’t. And that’s bad because this release contains over 25 high security fixes.
      Browsers being the most exposed part of the desktop should be dealt with differently.
      The current rules are seriously broken in that regard.

  2. gilir
    April 28, 2011 at 18:30

    SRU is probably good for common packages, but for such special case than Chromium, it probably deserves a special rule. Maybe something to raise for the next UDS ? 🙂
    Also, thanks for this quick update. All Lubuntu (which use Chromium by default) users should thank you for this 🙂

  1. April 29, 2011 at 20:08
  2. June 7, 2011 at 20:59

Leave a comment